Classes - Project
The Asset Definition > Classes-Project sub-application is a project-specific application that allows you to select which asset classes are available for use on your project. They can be added one at a time, or as a group by selecting a template from the Classes - Template sub-application.
Important things to know about this app include the following:
-
Asset classes must be set up in the Asset Definition > Classes - Master app to be available for selection in this app. Refer to Classes - Master.
-
Asset classes can be grouped together into a template in the Asset Definition > Classes - Template app. This makes it easier to add a number of asset classes to a project by using Select Template to add all the classes from a template to a project at once. Refer to Classes - Template.
-
You can optionally exclude attributes that you do not want to collect for the project.
How to . . .
To add asset classes to a project, complete the following steps:
-
Review the header to ensure that you are in the correct project or partition.
-
Navigate to the Asset Definition > Classes - Project app (Apps > Asset Management > Asset Definition > Classes - Project).
-
To add a single asset class, select Add from the action bar. The Choose Classes dialog appears.
Select one or more asset classes. Click Create to add them to the list of classes for this project.
-
To add a group of asset classes from a template set up in the Classes - Template app, click Select Template from the action bar. The Choose Template dialog appears.
Select a template from the list. Click Create to add the asset classes from the template to the list of classes for this project.
If there are attributes on a selected class that you do not want to track for assets on your project, you can remove them by clearing the Include Class check box on the attribute.
Additionally, if you have added a class to a project and later want to remove it from being an option for selection when creating new asset types in your project, you can do that by clearing the Include check box on the class.
To remove asset classes from selection on your project or to remove attributes from a particular class, complete the following steps:
-
Review the header to ensure that you are in the correct project or partition.
-
Navigate to the Asset Definition > Classes - Project app (Apps > Asset Management > Asset Definition > Classes - Project).
-
To modify a class, right -click on it in the log view and select Edit, or click on it to open the detail view and select Edit from the action bar.
-
In the Details section, clear the Include Class option to remove this option from future selection on this project.
-
In the Type Attribute or Asset Attribute sections, clear the Include check box next to any attributes you want to remove from this class for your project.
-
Click Save when you are done.
If you need to add or update many records at once, you can do so through the import process.
You will first generate an export of an existing record to access the correctly formatted spreadsheet file for the import. Once the exported file is available, add the appropriate values for the records you want to import to the exported spreadsheet. You can then import those records. For more detailed information on the importing process, refer to Importing records.
(print, send, view history, delete, etc.)
From the detail view of a record, there are several standard actions you can take. Depending on your permissions, some or all of the following options may be available to you:
-
View and View w/References - Select View or View w/References to open a PDF view of the current record. The PDF file can be printed or shared from the viewer by clicking on the Open PDF icon
.Note Only references where the Include on Send value is set to "Yes" are included in the View w/References.
Additionally, if Include Markup on Send is set to "Yes", any markups on the file are included. -
Discussions
- Select this icon to open the Discussions panel. If enabled in your domain, the discussions feature allows you to participate in public or private conversations associated with specific records. For more information, refer to Discussions. -
View History
- Select this icon to open the History page for the record. The history page provides details regarding all activity (creation, edits, saves, etc.) performed on the record. Click view edit to drill down into more detail on a specific action. Click hide edit to close the action detail. Click the Close icon
to close the history page. -
Send actions
- Click this icon to select an appropriate Send action for the record. The following options may be available to you:-
Copy Link and Copy Portable View Link - Select this option to copy a URL link for the record or record's portable view to your clipboard. This link can be sent outside of Kahua. Users with the appropriate permissions will be able to open Kahua directly to that record or portable view by using the link.
-
Copy QR Code and Copy Portable View QR Code - Select this option to generate a QR code for the currently open record or record's portable view. The QR code can be shared directly from your screen, or copied to your clipboard to be shared as appropriate. This QR code can be shared outside of Kahua. Users with the appropriate permissions will be able to open Kahua directly to that record or portable view by using the link.
-
Send - Select this option to open a new Kahua message with the open record included as an attachment. References with the Include on Send value set to "Yes" are also included. For more information, refer to Messages app.
-
-
Delete
- Select this option to delete the open record. You must agree to the confirmation message before the record is deleted.Alternatively, right-click on the record in the log view and select Delete, or select multiple records from the log view and select Delete.
Note If a record is deleted in error, your domain administrator may be able to recover it through the Recycle Bin app. For more information, refer to Using the Recycle Bin.
-
Open in a new window
- Select this option to open the current record as read-only in a new window (desktop host) or browser tab (web host). This allows you to navigate to other records in the original Kahua instance while keeping the read-only window or tab open for reference. To re-open the record on the read-only window or tab in Kahua, select Open in the header. -
Maximize
and Minimize
- Select Maximize
to open the record to a full screen view. From the full screen view, select Minimize
to return to the original view. -
Close
- Select the close icon
to close the currently open item.
Your domain administrator or another user with the appropriate permissions can configure the app in the Configuration application.
Important When working in the Configuration app, it is important to review the header and ensure that you are working at the correct level in the hierarchy, either the root domain or at a partition or project level.
Settings that you establish at the root domain or lower levels will inherit down the hierarchy until they are overridden. For more information on the hierarchical structure of Kahua, refer to Understanding the hierarchical structure of Kahua.
The Configuration app can be accessed directly through the apps list (Apps > Administration > Configuration), or, in some applications, by right-clicking on an application in the launch bar and selecting Configure. When you select Configure for an app from the launch bar, the detail view of the configuration page for that application opens automatically.
For general information on configuring this app in Configuration, refer to Application configuration.
Application roles determine which actions users can perform in the app. Roles are assigned to groups in the Groups app > Permissions tab. Members of the group then have the permissions associated with the roles assigned to the group.
The following roles are available for this application:
| Role | Details |
|---|---|
| Administrator |
Full administration, including add, configure, create lists, edit, import, export, share, view, send, process, remove, and edit view templates. |
| Contributor |
Can add, edit, open, view, send, and process records. |
| Moderator |
Can add, edit, import, export, remove, share, open, view, send, and process records. |
| Observer |
Can open, view, send, and process records. |
| Referencer |
View-only access to records. |
Note To manage these permissions, open the Groups app and assign the appropriate application role to the group. Only users with the appropriate permissions can manage application roles. For more information, refer to Managing Permissions.




